Mum’s birthday cake!

Image

It was Mum’s birthday back in January, and she asked me to make her a cake, so the above is what we ended up with!

My original plan was to make a basic dark chocolate four tier sponge cake with strawberry meringue buttercream. Before I’d even begun, I had to tackle what I thought would be my main obstacle in the making of what was supposed to be the most glorious and yummiest cake in the history of… cake. When most people pick out their ovens, they’d choose the good ol’ reliable electric option – my mothers always been a bit of a funny fish, but a double oven green gas rangemaster is taking it a bit too far. And we got it off ebay. And it refuses to allow cakes and pastries to do their thang and rise. NEED I GO FURTHER INTO MY OVEN RAGE?! But it turned into a goopy, gross, dripping mess of ick anyway.

Naturally, being the ditz that I am, I had no plan B. Who doesn’t have a plan B?! I have three hours before Mum comes back and four hours until we have a house full of guests. Do I take my sorry ass to Tesco and buy a pre-made one, therefore admitting defeat? Pretty much everyone coming knows that I’m trained in catering, worked mostly on pastry when in the kitchens and that I would be making Mum’s cake. So that option isn’t really an option is it.

NEW PLAN B! Simple Victoria Sponge recipe, top and bottom layer vanilla, middle layer chocolate, chocolate frosting to sandwich them together and cover the cake with, some ready made sugar icing cut to look like icing (strange concept?) and sprinkles, roll some into a ball to look like a cherry and voila! The only bit I was disappointed with was the icing holding the 50 – I didn’t want to make a hole in the cake and run out of time to get creative!

In the end Mum and her guests (rather drunk guests by the time they got to see it) said it looked and tasted great so job well done I think!Moral of the story? Plan B is always a good plan.

10 thoughts on “Mum’s birthday cake!

    • BambiLeigh says:

      Ah thankyou – that’s so nice! I was worried no one would read what I write and have been resisting making a blog for a while now, so glad you like it so far!
      And your cake pops are seriously awesome, you need to get the recipe up pronto so I can give them a go! xxx

      • mevevandal says:

        Ahha ! I will for sure.It’s so easy !

        I was feeling the same about the blogging thing… Turns out we found eachother at least XD ! I wish you more readers and much fun blogging ! xox

  1. candaceskitchen says:

    Given the crappy situation I am impressed that you were able to make a cake in that short time and it looks great. Sometimes the last minute things turn out better than the one that have been planned out.

  2. betchacanteatjustone says:

    I think the cake looks delicious! My last cake I had planned to use swiss meringue but some how ended up leaving half of the egg whites in a dish on the counter and it all went downhill from there!

    • BambiLeigh says:

      Ah thankyou! It all sounds so easy when you go over a recipe until you come to do it and realise you don’t have half the tools you need (a decent oven being one of them)

  3. bethan17 says:

    This cake looks great and the frosting looks delicious. My mum’s turning 50 this year too and I’ll probably have to make a cake. Hopefully I won’t need a Plan B. Awesome!

    • BambiLeigh says:

      Thankyou! It’s always good to have a backup plan – I’m no good with conversions and couldn’t convert the American version to English very well apparently! You’ll have to post a picture and let me know how you get on if you do end up making her one.

Let me know what you think!

