Skinny vs Curvy: Battle of the bodies

I don’t read glossy magazines very often, but when I do I usually dislike what I read/see. The majority of them are crammed full of images of super skinny celebrities, their diets, fitness routines and what they wear.

If I was a fellow super skinny I’m sure I wouldn’t mind this at all, in fact I’d probably read them a hell of a lot more, but I’ve always been a curvy girl and when I was in my early/mid teens pictures like this did nothing for my self confidence. I’ve always had issues with my weight and went through quite a lot of bullying in high school because of it, but even now I’m a size 14/16 (which is now average apparently), I still worry what people think when they look at me.

So imagine my absolute delight when I picked a magazine up to read during my break today and they were saying buh-bye to thigh gaps and visible rib cages! Maybe now we’ll see the return of figures like Marilyn Monroe and I won’t feel like such an elephant as I walk down the street. Although if I had the option of being a size 16 or a size 8/10, I’d still choose the latter.

Image

5 thoughts on “Skinny vs Curvy: Battle of the bodies

  1. Britney says:

    i’m pretty sure we are body twins…i am 5’10 and i am a size 16 as well! i totally know what you are feeling with the whole weight thing. i used to be a size 12 in high school and i am really trying to stick to a healthier diet and i am trying to exercise! its so hard to keep it all on track though. but i know i will be happier and feel better when i treat my body better.

    and honestly, don’t look at those magazines and wish to look like them! it’s better to imagine yourself healthier and better. don’t try to look like anybody else!

    • BambiLeigh says:

      I’m so glad someone understands the struggles haha! I really am trying to exercise and eat healthier… but I just love food! Bad food in particular! I really struggle to say no to take away and chocolate..

      There’s one thing I have found with eating better that may help you too when it comes to pasta… I love spaghetti and meatballs but always find the balls way too fatty – go to Tesco and get the Tesco’s own soya balls. They sound gross but I swear they taste better than normal meatballs! And there’s no fat!
      I will admit that I love the feeling at the end of the week knowing that I ate better and less than I would normally, and that I exercised a little almost every day! x

      • Britney says:

        it good that you are trying!! it for sure is hard. i really really love food too! and i have serious cravings for things and i have to have them…

        i don’t really like meatballs all that much anyway but i’ll have to try those out. i struggle with all the carbs!! lol i just tried the other day, zucchini pasta…its really good! instead of pasta you make noodle looking things out out zucchini and it tastes yummy!

Let me know what you think!

