New project!

Image

How cute is this fabric?! It should be here Tuesday/Wednesday and I’m super excited! (is that a bit sad?)

I’m planning to make my first ever quilt, and whilst I do have a sewing machine it’s super old and I’m not completely sure how to use it. I’m hoping it won’t be too difficult to do by hand, but I’ll admit I am slightly nervous about it. I don’t want it to go wrong!

Should I sew all the patches together, and then add the wadding and the backing fabric? Or should I do it all in one go? Do I add a border? What is quilt binding? How should I sew it? What stitch should I use? Do I sew each patch together with a hem on the inside? I’m so confused! I think I’m definitely going to have to do some major googling and see if theres a quilting 101 for dummies, or a quilting from start to finish kind of site that I can slave over before getting started… There’s a million questions I need answering!

If anyone has any advice or tips – please let me know! I’ll let you all know when the fabric arrives!

5 thoughts on “New project!

  1. Janneke says:

    I just wrote a tutorial on my first quilt on my blog, and also about how I cut the squares! Something you asked some weeks ago in my post about Easter! I hope you take a look and that it helps a bit!

  2. shad says:

    I will show you how to use the sewing machine, and sew the hems on the inside. Do a section, pad, then sew. Lori is the one to ask!

Let me know what you think!

