MY FABRIC’S HEREEEEEE!

I’M SO EXCITED – BABABUHBUHBUBBALAHHH!
I hope someone knows which song I was trying to type out there.

The fabric I ordered has finally arrived! It was meant to get here Monday, but now it’s here I’m not really too bothered. I’m just so excited to get started! The picture below is how it looked when I’d opened the package.

Image

I’m not really a fan of Cath Kidston – I think she’s a bit expensive for the fabrics and patterns she produces, but after seeing the fabrics in this bundle I have to say I’m converted! Some of them are pretty simple, but they’re still cute and will make a pretty sweet quilt/throw.

Image

As you can see, there’s 15 different patterns and there’s 10 of each. I haven’t decided how to arrange the patches yet, but I think there’s too many patterned ones next to each other in the picture above. I still haven’t bought the wadding, but I know my local fabric shop sells some, and I’m planning to use a bed sheet as the backing fabric.

This project is still in the planning stage, but I think I’m almost ready to actually start!

12 thoughts on “MY FABRIC’S HEREEEEEE!

  1. Clipped Curves says:

    Ok… so in a few lines (by no means a comprehensive paragraph on the topic – I’m sure you can search online for that)…
    Why? Well, when you press fabric and thread it ‘sets’ the stitching because they shrink a little bit. Also sometimes you’ll need to press the seam allowance (the flappy bits the other side of your stitching that will be on the inside of your quilt) open and sometimes to one side (to reduce bulk) but always for quilting you’ll want to press the two pieces of fabric that will be seen on the outside apart. When they’re pressed apart, sewing on the next row will be easier. When the seam allowances are pressed, the insides will be neater, lie flat and allow you to keep your quilt squares even so that all the seam lines match up exactly.
    How? “Pressing is different to ironing” I said that in my dressmaking tutor’s voice even though my course finished a couple of years ago! Press means press. Hold the iron above, lower, allow to steam a little, then raise. With ironing you’d be gliding the iron over the fabric and this can distort the cut edges of fabric.

  2. Janneke says:

    Don’t worry about the patterns! Things will look different as soon as you sew them together and iron the seams, then it will melt into each other and look really good. This was exactly what I was worried about in my quilt, but it turned out rather nice!

Let me know what you think!

