What a way to screw up a first day at a new job

I’m sure that everyone’s first day at a new job doesn’t quite go how they hoped it would – but did I really have to screw it up that bad?!

I thought my first official day was on Tuesday, but it turned out that we were only going to be doing paper work and filling in forms to make sure we get paid correctly and that we get our airport passes – this all went smoothly.

My real first day was Wednesday, and I was quite excited to finally start and start learning everything. I went to bed at a reasonable time ready to get up early, all the paperwork I needed to take with me was in my bag and my clothes were hanging up ready for me to throw on in the morning. And then I woke up at 3am and threw my guts up. Sorry for the TMI.

I was too tired to even think what the problem may be so I just brushed my teeth, went back to bed and hoped I’d be fine in the morning. When I woke up I still felt like crap and wanted to throw up every time I moved – I still had a bus to catch. Luckily I made it to the bus station (only just) and survived the long bus ride without throwing up again.
I thought I’d be fine and the nauseous feeling would go away throughout the day, but when I was being shown all the different types of liquor that were on sale I had to run to the bathroom.. I’d like to apologise to the cleaning lady on duty that day.

Image

I never get sick. Ever. So why on what was probably one of the most important days of the year did my body decide to screw me over. After having to run to the loo twice in the space of an hour, I was sent home and told that I can’t go back for three days. Brilliant.

I thought that they might be understanding and realise that it was just really really bad timing, but being told “If you don’t want the job, I’d rather you told me instead of not turning up” makes me think otherwise. I’m gonna have to do some serious arse-licking to make up for this one!

5 thoughts on “What a way to screw up a first day at a new job

  1. Mark in Sumpter says:

    so sorry for your bad experience….but I must say it is rather nice to know that I am not the only one that has had that same experience! 🙂

  2. Janneke says:

    well, if they really are like that, maybe you should find a different job as soon as you can 😦 I can’t believe a reasonable person would treat you like that, it’s horrible. Make sure you get well soon!

Let me know what you think!

