DIY recipe book

Carrying on from the free crafty kit theme, I bought another artycraftyfarty magazine that had a free DIY recipe book kit in it. I mainly bought it for the magazine – I didn’t think I’d end up actually using the kit as I’ve already got so many cute recipe books that still have a lot of blank pages (I really should start writing the recipes down instead of trying to remember them!) but I had a bit of spare time so I thought I’d give it a try. I figured I could always give it to someone as a present, but now I’ve actually finished it I can’t bare to give it up!

Image

The kit came with two pieces of card stock, a stack of patterned paper, stickers, card cut embellishments and two metal rings to hold everything together. There was a rough guide of what to do inside the magazine, but all it pretty much said is ‘let your creativity flow’ – so that’s what I did, and here’s the results!

I had some little 3D adhesive pads floating about in my craft box so I used those to stick the 3D looking decorations down, but I mostly just used a clear craft glue.

Image

It looked as if there was going to be a lot of plain patterned pages so I took a stencil (another freebie from a magazine!) and some money envelopes to make little note holders just to make it a bit more interesting and unique.

Please excuse the quality of the pictures, but I’m sitting on my bed and I really don’t want to move far – I’ve had a hard day.

ImageSince I only had two pieces of cardstock that I obviously used for the front and back, I was a bit worried that the middle pages would be a bit flimsy and just look a bit naff in general, but the glue I used to stick each two pieces of paper together actually stiffened them up a bit so they hold their own.

Image

I’m not going to upload a picture of every page, just my favourite ones. Some of the pages aren’t perfect and I’d probably do a few things different if I could do it again, but I don’t think it turned out too bad for a freebie!Image

Let me know what you think!

