EBOLA SCREENING

So, Heathrow airport (UK) have just started doing ‘ebola screenings’ on passengers that arrive from specific countries… I need some help understanding this. I’m no Einstein, but I’m not bloody Forrest Gump either – this just doesn’t seem right to me.

Why are you scanning people for the virus when they’ve already arrived in the country? Why aren’t they being scanned before they get on the plane? I know it’s not spread simply through social contact (shaking hands, high fiving, punching someone in the kisser) but all it takes is for Ronald to go to the loo and have a little splash on the seat, then Betty comes along and sits down without checking, then she has sexy time with her hubby Pete who then cuts himself on the paper trimmer at work and is helped by his secretarty (heh) Gina who gets some blood on her whilst trying to help and… do you see where I’m going with this? BOOM! Ebola outbreak in the UK.

…back to my original wondering – why are we scanning them after they’ve already been on a plane full of people?

4 thoughts on “EBOLA SCREENING

  1. shbouzounis says:

    You make a good point that I never thought of before. It’s pretty scary thinking about it, considering I’m flying to see my friend in St Louis tomorrow. 😳 Have there been cases in the UK yet? We’ve had a couple in the USA.

    • BambiLeigh says:

      Oh my goodness be careful! I’m not quite sure if there’s cases over here at the moment to be completely honest… I’m trying to pretend it’s not happening! People will come back as zombies next… Haha!

  2. imogenmcp says:

    Yeah it does seem pretty weird haha! I guess that GB can’t force other countries to check people especially if they don’t have the money to carry out these procedures and airport security things whereas we do.. If someone with Ebola is on a plane and gives it to someone else everyone on the plane is screened anyway so all infected will be quarantined.. Would be so much better if every country decided to just screen before people leave, but I guess there are pros to shipping people with Ebola out the country in the first place…hrmmm.. Or maybe I am a Gump haha

    • BambiLeigh says:

      It makes no sense at all! And if those countries don’t have the money for screening services, why don’t we send equipment over with the instruction that it’s to be used before anyone boards English flights!

Let me know what you think!

