ZOMBIE BITE

Hellooooo! I feel like I haven’t put up a proper post for ages! I really haven’t felt like blogging lately – I’ve just been really uninspired and felt like I had nothing to share with you guys.

Anyway, I’m back! In previous posts I’ve hinted about that fact that I am interested in getting involved in special effects make up, and I am now pleased to announce that I am ready to share my first attempt with you! I’ve never done anything like this before so I just had to figure things out!

I found the prosthetic on eBay, which came unpainted and with some liquid latex and witch hazel. The witch hazel was meant to help you hide the edges a little and blend them into your own skin… it didn’t quite work for me. The photo below is when I first started painting! I painted quite a lot of it before I stuck it on my arm.

DSCN1357
I’d watched a couple of youtube videos on how to attach prosthetics and such, but that was pretty much it. I think it’s more fun if you try and figure things out yourself! I looked at some pictures for some inspiriation, but actually doing it is a lot harder than it looks!

DSCN1361

You can see that I tried to hide the edges with fake blood! I think with a little more practice I’ll be able to get better at blending. I really want to try making my own prosthetics too!

SONY DSC

I really did struggle blending everything together, and I clearly didn’t blend it into my normal skin tone enough! The painting was the hardest part for me! I haven’t taken the plunge and invested in fancy shmancy sfx paints – I’m just using good ol’ snazaroo! I wanted to do some vein detailing but it turned out to be a lot harder than I thought! I may have to give it and watch a few pro videos 😦

Still, not bad for a first attempt I don’t think! I need to work on blending, bruising and veins quite a bit though. I’ll let you guys know how I get on next time and if you have any tips let me know in the comments!

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “ZOMBIE BITE

  1. Karen Rees says:

    Good to see your post huni, I’ve been looking out for them – hope you’re back to feeling inspired, we all go through it I assure you 🙂 Bloody marvellous special effects, for a first attempt this is shockingly good. I must admit, makes me a little queasy/tingly… hubby walked past the computer as the pic was centre screen, needles to say he turned 50 shades of green and asked what the hell I was looking at & what happened the poor sod. Always a good sign of awesome workmanship, wouldn’t you say? 😉 Karen x

    http://www.confettiandcurves.wordpress.com

  2. Strange Made Me says:

    It looks really good! 😀 Kind of makes me feel funny though, you can even see where the individual ‘teeth’ would have bitten into the skin *shudders* so many ‘ews’ haha. To say you managed that with Snazzaroo is pretty amazing, I could never get on with the damn stuff! 🙂 I use similar to Bitchontheverge for the blood, we have several weird recipes for differet fake skins and blood at work to use during trauma training days and I still haven’t mastered blending and applying with them. I find eyeshadows and normal make-up easier to use, I’ve used my Poptastic pallet a lot for bruises and cut blending and that was about £3 :’) I can’t wait to see more of your SFX stuff! 🙂 x

    • BambiLeigh says:

      Thank you 😀
      You should see the other prosthetic I got! You can see where the teeth would have scraped and bitten a chunk of skin out!
      It’s gonna take me ages I think, but it’s so much fun! x

  3. bitchontheverge says:

    I love sfx makeup and is not an easy task to take on if it’s the first time you’re doing it! I did a zombie make up for a school photography class once and it was so hard to get the bites and scratches to blend that I ended up just lathering the arm in latex and toilet paper and making it my own. It looks good tho, and you don’t need to spend tons of money, just go to super drug and buy cheap makeup like mate eye shadows and foundation, it works just fine. For the blood I used maple syrup and red food coloring and it looked quite real.

    • BambiLeigh says:

      Ooh I may have to try the blood idea! I just used a little tube I found at Tesco!
      And I get paid Friday so I’m definitely taking myself down town to see what I can find! Some of the palettes I’ve seen are like £90!

      • bitchontheverge says:

        They are crazy expensive and is not necesary to spend all that money when with a little bit of vaseline and eyeshadow you can get the same effect !

Let me know what you think!

