BANANA OAT MUFFINS

You guys, we need to have a serious chat about these muffins.

As usual, I found this recipe, tried it and then closed the tab. I do it every time!! It’s a good job I remember measurements and stuff or there’d be no way of me passing anything on! I remember that the lady’s name was Debbie and she had a fitness blog? Anyway, whoever she is – she’s a genius and credit to her!

If someone came up to me and said ‘Here try this muffin I made, it has no sugar in it but it’s super tasty’ I’d probably pass. How can something as sweet as a muffin have no sugar in it and taste nice?! I’d probably also say no because a random person’s trying to get me to eat their baked goods…

2.5 cups of old fashioned oats         1 tsp vanilla extract
2 ripe bananas                                      1/2 cup honey
2 eggs                                                      1 cup plain low fat greek yogurt
2 tsp baking powder

Righto, you actually need a food processor to make these muffins because you’re gonna blend the oats up to turn them into oat flour. If you don’t have a processor you could just buy oat flour but that’d probably be a bit more expensive than plain ol’ oats. I shoved mine in a blender!

DSCN1401

When you’ve done whatever you chose to do with the oaty part, add everything else into your blender/processor/bowl and spoon combo and mush everything together! You should be left with something that’s a little like a cake batter but ever so slightly runnier… yum?

DSCN1404

The thing about these muffins is that you get all the sweetness that you need in a muffin from the bananas and then you can add in whatever extras you like. In the recipe I saw the lady added flaxseed, chocolate chips and walnuts. I added raisins!

When you’ve added in whatever you choose, you just need to pop them in the oven! I poured mine into cupcake cases, filled up about 3/4 of the way.
I’ve spoken about my oven breifly before and the trouble I have with it. I’ve learnt that the best way to ensure things bake properly is to whack it up to GM 6 and check after about 15 minutes, and then poke a knife in the centre every 5 minutes until it’s cooked… not very helpful I know – sorry!

DSCN1407

The recipe made 12, but I got excited a tasted one before I took a picture 😦
I tried one about 10 minutes after it came out of the oven and if I’m honest, I wasn’t keen at all! But I’ve just had one… okay two, with a coffee and they taste amazing! I wasn’t going to share this recipe with you guys but I’ve fallen in love now. I will definitely be making more!
I usually have a bit of greek yogurt with cereal clusters on top for breakfast, but I always find I want a little something to go with my coffee when I have a break at about 10:30 and these are perfect! Surely they’re not too unhealthy? They have no sugar!

DSCN1414

They’re definitely better for you than a huge slice of chocolate cake, and that’s good enough for me!

DSCN1415

One thought on “BANANA OAT MUFFINS

Let me know what you think!

